It’s King Cake season :)

medium%20pecan%20praline

Hello February – the season I don’t really know how to comprehend since I seem to always get sick a lot in February. Perhaps it is the bipolar-ness of the weather? One week hot, one week cold isn’t really helping with anything… If only the weather can stay consistent.

I haven’t been feeling all that great this week with basically headache all day everyday… I am super looking forward to the weekend to just relax and sleep in (exactly in less than 1 hour!). My plan is to just take it slow this weekend, although I still need to make a quick trip to the mall to do return, Asian supermarket to get rice, grocery trip, clean the bathroom / wash bed sheets chores ugh.

A lot of people at my company are getting sick – sneezes and coughs. For that reason I gave myself an excuse to go to Ladles for my favorite Greek Lemon Chicken soup! If only I know how to make it exactly the same taste like Ladles! I don’t think I can ever get tired of that place… yummy pretzel bread and delicious soothing soup. Still remember the very first time I had it in Charleston. Good memories!

I am also planning to buy some Chinese to go tonight… So tired :/

One cool thing that happened this week was I tried my first slice of king cake!

It was freshly delivered from Louisana 🙂 Our branch office FedEx the cakes to us.

If you are like me who had no idea what is kind cake, here’s some useful information from Wikipedia:

A king cake is a type of cake associated in a number of countries with the festival of Epiphany at the end of the Christmas season; in other places, it is associated with the pre-Lenten celebrations of Mardi Gras/Carnival.

What started out roughly 300 years ago as a dry French bread–type dough with sugar on top and a bean inside now comes in many varieties depending on the country. Some king cakes are made of a sweet brioche dough in the shape of a hollow circle with a glazed topping sprinkled with colored sugar. Hundreds of thousands of King Cakes are eaten in New Orleans during the Carnival season. In other countries, king cakes are made with a puff pastry, filled with one of several fillings (e.g., almond, apple, chocolate/pear, etc.), and have a small figurine hidden inside. The figurine changes from bakery to bakery and often represents a hit movie or other cultural icon.

The cake often has a small plastic baby (to represent the Baby Jesus) inside or underneath; and the person who gets the piece of cake with the trinket has various privileges and obligations.

img_9735

I was horrified when my colleague told me there would be a baby inside the cake 😛 Many of them thought I’d be getting the baby because I got one of the last slice. I suppose it would be kind of cool to get the baby? Meaning good luck for the rest of the year… but also have to be responsible to buy king cake for next year!

Overall I enjoyed the cake. I think it tastes very similar to cinnamon roll with the cream cheese glaze. I bet it would taste so much better fresh out of the oven though!

The king cakes we got to try were from Manny Randazzo 🙂 I did a quick research and apparently it’s considered one of the best in New Orleans and always sold out at Mardi Gras! If you want freshly baked one (they are limited everyday) some people would go wait in line at 6:30/6:45am to get the cakes.

The experience to taste a bit of king cake was definitely highlight of my week since other than that I’ve just been feeling under the weather and tired. Although I didn’t have the baby hidden in my slice, I hope the opportunity to try the cake also will provide me the positive-ness and good luck I need for this year! I feel like there’s a lot of important and possibly life changing decisions I would have to make.

Have you ever tried king cakes before? What’s your favorite kind? I was told there are different kinds within the US and Spain/French! It’d be neat to be able to try the ones from France one day as my friend Emily said they were delicious too 🙂

Happy Friday everyone. Hope you all will have a chance to enjoy a slice of king cake and find that baby in your share =)

k.

Leave a Reply

