Almost 1 month with Fitbit

IMG_7544

Do you have a health tracker? How about… a Fitbit?

I know Fitbit has been a ‘trend’ for a while now. I was so tempted to get one for myself and my dad last year in December. Perfect Christmas gift right? Judging by the title of the post, yup, I did not get it. At the time I was looking at the Charge HR but it was just a bit pricey… Not to mention I was thinking to get two at the time. I hold off on Fitbit and life has been fine. I still hear about Fitbit from time to time but somehow I just don’t think about it as much. I am pretty careful with my eating habit, work out, etc. With or without a Fitbit probably won’t make all that big of a difference, I thought.

At the end of August, my manager told me about the program my company participated in called “Virgin Pulse.” In a nutshell, it’s a program to encourage you to work out and be healthy. You gain points and to reach a certain level (level 3 to be specific), you get $20 off from your insurance monthly, and levels after that you can potentially get gift cards or cash to use, whatever you desire. Pretty awesome? Yes. Count me in!

Virgin Pulse would send you a free tracker in the mail. However, based on the website description, it’s a simple basic tracker that’s pretty bulky and hard to carry everywhere – you could purchase additional accessory to make it into a ‘watch’ to wear, but it’s big and uses batteries. My manager wears a Charge HR all the time so I asked her how it works – turns out Virgin Pulse does partner up with Fitbit and you can easily connect your Fitbit to Virgin Pulse and all your steps would be uploaded automatically with no fuss. Well… sounds like someone needs to invest in a Fitbit after all 😛

I did not like the free tracker Virgin Pulse sent. It’s just too much trouble to remind myself I have to either carry it or wear it as an ugly watch all the time. Therefore, Fitbit sounds like a reasonable choice, not to mention I really want to get that $20 discount off my monthly insurance bill. I looked up Fitbit again (pretty serious this time unlike December last year) and compared all the models. It was good timing because Fitbit just released some new models. The new generations are prettier than last year, but the price is still not all that friendly. I wanted something small, easy to take care of, easy to use (sort of a technology retard myself…), and cost effective. Fitbit Flex 2… ta-da!

It didn’t take too long for me to decide I’d opt for the Flex 2 because it’s new, it’s water proof, and it’s also the most basic version available. It doesn’t have a screen so you’d have to access all your information via your phone, which actually works perfect for me because I just want it to track my sleep, my steps, etc.

IMG_7543

Although it did not take me a long time to decide on the Flex 2, it took me a while to decide on the color… black just seems like a good everyday look, but the new lavender is so pretty…. Lavender always reminds me of Hokkaido and it’s just hard to not think about it! After talking to A. and L. and also think about it for a bit… (like a few days?) I finally decided I will get the lavender one only to find out they are all sold out on Fitbit’s website and pretty much all the department store websites are on back order…

However, I still managed to find one of the last Fitbit Flex 2 lavender available… At my local Target! I swing by after work to get it and have been wearing it every day for almost a month now J

Fitbit Flex 2 really is the perfect tracker for me. It’s small, it’s light, and it’s extremely easy to charge. I wouldn’t say it changed my life completely, or dramatically like a lot of the bloggers claimed, but I like how I start to pay attention to how much water I drink a day and my sleep pattern. I definitely did not know how poor I sleep from time to time… Or, when I thought I slept well but turned out to be quite a restless night… Lots of interesting things I did not pay attention to, and I try to push myself harder to walk more to get the steps… $20 insurance off and also to be healthier 😉

To be honest, I think it’s probably going to be ‘mission impossible’ to reach level 3 by end of November, but I am still trying hard every day. October was not a very good month for me due to various reasons, and one of the primary ones was mentioned in my previous post, but I hope with November (thanksgiving to see family and my birthday *gasp*) perhaps it’ll be a better month for me.

Some goals I’ve set for myself for this month is to sleep earlier, better quality of sleep, and definitely more work out!!!

For those of you who use Fitbit, what version/type do you have? What do you like about it?

I still think it’s a bit pricey, but it’s such a nice little tracker that you almost forget it’s on your wrist 😉 I am loving my choice of lavender a lot, and I think it’s cool you can also purchase other colors on the Fitbit website to change the color depends on your mood or fashion sense! Personally though, I like my choice a lot I think I’ll be happy with it for a long time until it breaks or something.

Happy hump day 😉

k.

Leave a Reply

