Cherry Blossoms – I left my heart in Tokyo

image-6

March 2013 I arrived in Tokyo just in time when cherry blossoms were in full bloom. I still remember the day well. It was not my first time seeing cherry blossoms in full bloom in Japan, but the feeling was quite different this time because I was going to live in Japan for a year to study at Waseda University – something I was dying to do for a long time and can really be considered a dream came true moment for me. Finally, I was able to live, breath, and feel Japan.

As soon as we unloaded the luggages at Hyatt Regency at Shinjuku, my parents decided we would go to Ueno Park for “ohanami” (cherry blossom viewing). That day was cold and gloomy, but the flowers were perfect. The sky was covered in pink, all different shades of pink. It was like love at first sight kind of feeling.

I left Tokyo in 2014 right before cherry blossom season, so technically I only got to see cherry blossoms in Japan once my time in Tokyo. Yet somehow, perhaps the fact that sakura symbolises Japan, every time when I see images of sakura, I think of Japan, the nostalgic feeling reminding me the times I spent there – perhaps one of my happiest time in my life so far.

image-5

As I have mentioned in my earlier post, I have began walking to work daily (unless bad weather). I’ve been seeing the pink trees from office window for a few days, and the other day on my walk home I decided to stop by the trees (not too out of my way) just to take photos… because they look pretty, and I like taking photos. To my surprise, those were cherry blossom trees! I mean, it’s not a big deal seeing sakura trees in Asia, Washington D.C., San Francisco… But in North Carolina! Not to mention South End! Thats a big deal! (at least to me :P) I was surprised, amazed, and overjoyed to find these gems. I literally stand in front of the trees looking at them, taking photos, and reminiscing my Tokyo days. It was wonderful.

image-4

Like Japanese, one thing I love about cherry blossoms is that they do not last long. They are in fact, quite fragile and delicate. They are only pretty for a very short period of time, and every year full bloom is different compare to the last… Perhaps like many Japanese writers and poets who wrote about sakura, ‘cherry blossoms are pretty because they do not last long. when you have the chance to enjoy the moment, to gaze at the beauty, it is like eternity.’

Today, I brought my polaroid camera and took a few more photos of the cherry blossoms, and also picked 3 flowers on the ground to put in my planner. I wonder how long they will stay this pretty on the side walk? But for sure everyday I will stop by to see them, to have a moment, and be grateful for the beauty of these flowers while they last.

Have a beautiful Wednesday readers, and a lovely rest of the week ❤

k. xxx

Leave a Reply

